Weekly Reading Round-Up
June 16th, 2017

I’ve had an excellent run of new books this week, across a rather broad genre spectrum, from historical fiction, to women’s fiction, to ghost story/psychological thriller. Here’s this week’s haul:

— Jennifer Ryan’s The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir, about a group of women in an English village during World War II, and the various dramas that beset their community as they all grow and find their own strengths and commonalities;

— Kristan Higgins’s On Second Thought, set in a small town in New York, in which a death in the family turns two sisters’ lives upside down, but ultimately brings them both closer together;

— Carol Goodman’s The Widow’s House, a chills down the spine “is it a ghost? is it gaslighting? is the protagonist going mad?” story in which old secrets and, possibly, ghosts begin to come out when two writers relocate from Brooklyn to a tumbledown mansion in upstate New York.

What have you been reading this week?



9 Responses to “Weekly Reading Round-Up”

  1. DJL says:

    Jumped from the realm of fantasy into mysteries this week; for me, nothing says summer time like murder and mayhem, preferably a la Christie :-) Read The Tuesday Club Murders (Miss Marple short stories) and followed it up with my personal favorite, The Moving Finger.

  2. Diane LaRue says:

    I just finished an ARC of Eleanor Henderson’s upcoming The Twelve-Mile Straight, and I loved it just as much as Ten Thousand Saints. I’m almost done with Jenny Colgan’s new book, Cafe By The Sea and it is wonderful.

  3. Lauren H says:

    I am currently working on Elizabeth Kostova’s The Shadow Land, set in post-WW2 and contemporary Bulgaria. A young American woman accidentally picks up a stranger’s bag at a hotel and her search to return it to its owners uncovers a dark and dangerous history. I’m almost done and enjoying it very much.

    I have also been reading Barbara Michaels’s Search the Shadows. Her books are always brilliant. And I just finished listening to Sarah MacLean’s One Good Earl Deserves a Lover, which is part of a series I started listening to because the performer, Rosalyn Landor, is one of my favorite audiobook narrators.

  4. Heather Haskins says:

    Continuing my journey to the Dark Tower, I am about halfway through “The Drawing of the Three.” I’m moving in 2 weeks, so I’m trying NOT to get any new reads before the move, but I’ve had several friends recommend Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles to me. I’m seriously thinking about picking the first book up.

    • Mary Lou says:

      Can absolutely endorse the Iron Druid series-but try it in audio version read by the brilliant Luke Daniels. No messy books to accidently pack away and company while you pack up, drive to new place and unpack.

  5. LynnS says:

    Getting ready to start The Austen Project.

  6. Tara says:

    I have been sailing through the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Already on book three in the series, The Heir of Fire. Loving them all. It’s a fantasy/epic quest series in the vein of Game of Thrones and Lord of the Rings.

  7. Maureen says:

    I just started The Alice Network by Kate Quinn

  8. Betty Strohecker says:

    I read The American Heiress Brides collection – nine short stories set from 1880 to 1905. These are all good, quick reads that give a flavor of the time and places for each story – very interesting for historical fiction lovers.

    Am also reading Tracy Grant’s Gilded Deceit with two friends.


Leave a Reply