“The Visitors” Winner
October 26th, 2016

The winner of the ARC of The Visitors is…

Carla! (Of Comment #4.)

Congrats, Carla! If you let me know where to send it, I’ll pop your book in the mail to you.

More give aways coming up next Monday!


THE FORGOTTEN ROOM goes paperback!
October 25th, 2016

Now in a sleeker, bolder format, we give you the New York Times and USA Today bestseller… The Forgotten Room paperback, out in stores today!

Untitled-1 tfr-paperback

As you can imagine, Beatriz, Karen, and I are all lifting virtual glasses of bubbly.


Even better, in three weeks, we’ll be lifting real glasses of bubbly together as we convene in our top secret location to start work on the next collaborative novel together!

w-suitcases NYT Forgotten Room

This novel began as a crazy scheme between friends– so we still can’t quite believe it’s real or that we’re getting to write another one. Thanks so much to everyone who has read our books and helped make this collaboration a reality!



Monday Give Away
October 24th, 2016

With only a week until Halloween, this week’s give away is another rain-lashed tale of the supernatural– or, in this case, the mythical: an ARC of Simon Sylvester’s The Visitors.

Here’s the official blurb:

the-visitorsIn the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age tale

Nobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can’t wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa.

Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about ”selkies,” the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again.

Convinced of her new neighbors’ innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?

This book reminded me a little of the tv series Shetland, a little of Peter May’s The Blackhouse, and a little of Megan Abbott’s The Fever (which isn’t set in Scotland, but has a similar tone).

For a chance to win an ARC of The Visitors, here’s your question:

— What’s your favorite Scottish-set book or tv show?

The winner will be announced on Wednesday.


Spread the word! It’s Author Confidential.
October 24th, 2016

Spreading the word about Author Confidential seems like it ought to be a contradiction in terms. But not when it’s the Bacon Free Library’s annual fundraiser!

What it is: a chance to ask your favorite author three questions– and receive a hand-written answer in return!

Here’s the official press release:

Bacon Free Library Announces ‘Author Confidential’ Auction

Best Selling Authors to Answer Three Questions from Winning Bidders

Have you ever finished a book only to find yourself full of questions? What inspired the story? Did the husband do it? Is she going to live? Will there be a sequel? Now’s your chance to find out!

This fall the Bacon Free Library in Natick, Massachusetts is inviting the public to bid on the opportunity to ask more than 75 best-selling and award-winning authors three (3) questions. The highest bidders will have the chance to ask authors, whose works range from mystery/thrillers to literary fiction, historical fiction to children’s literature, romance to nonfiction, about anything regarding the author’s work or writing process. Winning bidders will receive a signed, keepsake letter written by the author with their responses by mail.

The online auction will take place on eBay from Sunday, October 23, 2016 8pm through Sunday, October 30, 2016 8pm [EST]. Starting bids range from $50-$75.

Authors participating in the Library’s ‘Author Confidential Auction’ are some of the most beloved, diverse and prolific in current literature. They are known for popular and familiar titles such as Fates and Furies, The Perfect Storm, The Giver, In the Heart of the Sea, Presumed Innocent, and A Thousand Acres. Many of their works have been adapted as major motion pictures and television shows.

An interactive list of participating authors is available at
http://baconfreelibrary.org/gallery-of-authors/ and includes Lee Child, Nora Roberts, Bill Bryson, Diana Gabaldon, Jeff Kinney, JoJo Moyes, Dave Eggers, Laura Hillenbrand, Andy Weir, Peter H. Reynolds among many other notable writers.

Additional details and information on bidding rules are available at


You can find the full list of participating authors here.

The auction began last night and runs until Sunday, October 30th, at eight o’clock in the evening. What better way to start Halloween off with a treat?


Weekly Reading Round-Up
October 21st, 2016

The final edits on the next novel are IN! So I’ve been rewarding myself with two books I’ve saved for just such an occasion:

— Susan Elizabeth Philips’s latest, First Star I See Tonight, which returns us to the world of the Chicago Stars with a former quarterback turned nightclub owner and a scrappy private detective trying to keep her family’s agency afloat, and

— Cristina Alger’s This Was Not the Plan, in which a hard-working law firm associate, after a vodka-fueled rant about law firm life goes viral, finds himself out of work and rethinking his life, his relationship with his five year old son, and just about everything. (For those of you who haven’t read it yet, the paperback just came out this past Tuesday.)

What have you been reading this week?


“Yesternight” Winner
October 19th, 2016

The winner of my copy of Yesternight is…

… Jessie Clever! (Of Comment #5.)

Congrats, Jessie! If you let me know where to send it, I’ll pop your book in the mail to you.

Stay tuned for another give away next Monday!


Monday Give Away
October 17th, 2016

In keeping with the chill down the spine theme, I have another rain-lashed novel of slight spookiness to offer up: Cat Winter’s Yesternight.

Here’s the official blurb:

yesternight From the author of The Uninvited comes a haunting historical novel with a compelling mystery at its core. A young child psychologist steps off a train, her destination a foggy seaside town. There, she begins a journey causing her to question everything she believes about life, death, memories, and reincarnation.

In 1925, Alice Lind steps off a train in the rain-soaked coastal hamlet of Gordon Bay, Oregon. There, she expects to do nothing more difficult than administer IQ tests to a group of rural schoolchildren. A trained psychologist, Alice believes mysteries of the mind can be unlocked scientifically, but now her views are about to be challenged by one curious child.

Seven-year-old Janie O’Daire is a mathematical genius, which is surprising. But what is disturbing are the stories she tells: that her name was once Violet, she grew up in Kansas decades earlier, and she drowned at age nineteen. Alice delves into these stories, at first believing they’re no more than the product of the girl’s vast imagination. But, slowly, Alice comes to the realization that Janie might indeed be telling a strange truth.

Alice knows the investigation may endanger her already shaky professional reputation, and as a woman in a field dominated by men she has no room for mistakes. But she is unprepared for the ways it will illuminate terrifying mysteries within her own past, and in the process, irrevocably change her life.

For a chance to win a copy of Yesternight, here’s your question:

If you had a past life, what do you think it would be?

The winner, chosen at random, will be announced on Wednesday.


Weekly Reading Round-Up
October 14th, 2016

I’ve been in a bit of a book slump, picking up and putting down old favorites:The Collected Ghost Stories of E.F. Benson, Ben Aaronovitch’s Rivers of London books, Angela Thirkell’s Northbridge Rectory (not my favorite of her Barsetshire books). But nothing seems to quite fit the moment.

So help me break through my reading block: what have you been reading this week?


“Hawley Book of the Dead” Winner
October 12th, 2016

The winner of Chrysler Szarlan’s The Hawley Book of the Dead is…

…Prithvia Devadas! (Of Comment #6.)

Congrats, Prithvia! If you let me know where to send it, I’ll pop your book in the mail to you.

Check back next Monday for another book up for grabs!


Monday Give Away
October 10th, 2016

In keeping with the Halloween theme, we move from ghosts to witchcraft with this Monday’s give away: Chrysler Szarlan’s The Hawley Book of the Dead.

Here’s the official blurb:

hawley-book-of-the-deadFor fans of The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane and A Discovery of Witches comes a brilliantly imagined debut novel brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic.

Revelation “Reve” Dyer grew up with her grandmother’s family stories, stretching back centuries to Reve’s ancestors, who founded the town of Hawley Five Corners, Massachusetts. Their history is steeped in secrets, for few outsiders know that an ancient magic runs in the Dyer women’s blood, and that Reve is a magician whose powers are all too real.

Reve and her husband are world-famous Las Vegas illusionists. They have three lovely young daughters, a beautiful home, and what seems like a charmed life. But Reve’s world is shattered when an intruder alters her trick pistol and she accidentally shoots and kills her beloved husband onstage.

Fearing for her daughters’ lives, Reve flees with them to the place she has always felt safest—an antiquated farmhouse in the forest of Hawley Five Corners, where the magic of her ancestors reigns, and her oldest friend—and first love—is the town’s chief of police. Here, in the forest, with its undeniable air of enchantment, Reve hopes she and her girls will be protected.

Delving into the past for answers, Reve is drawn deeper into her family’s legends. What she discovers is The Hawley Book of the Dead, an ancient leather-bound journal holding mysterious mythic power. As she pieces together the truth behind the book, Reve will have to shield herself and her daughters against an uncertain, increasingly dangerous fate. For soon it becomes clear that the stranger who upended Reve’s life in Las Vegas has followed her to Hawley—and that she has something he desperately wants.

Brimming with rich history, suspense, and magic, The Hawley Book of the Dead is a brilliantly imagined debut novel from a riveting new voice.

For a chance to win a copy of The Hawley Book of the Dead, here’s your question:

What’s your favorite October read?

One winner, chosen at random, will be announced on Wednesday.